If you are convicted of DWI in the state of New York, it can affect your very ability to provide for your family. Even first-time offenders face a lengthy license suspension, which will make it hard to get to and from work on time or handle basic errands like grocery shopping.
Archives for September 2017
Law enforcement personnel in the state of New York take impaired driving seriously, and those who face DWI charges are up against severe penalties. For example, a license suspension for a first-time offender can vary from 90 days for someone who has been charged with Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol to 18 months for a commercial driver who refused to take a chemical test.
According to Inside Edition, a New York man is facing multiple charges following an incident in which he struck his stepson with his vehicle when the 13-year-old boy was out walking the family dog. Police claim the 42-year-old man was driving under the influence when he hit his stepson, breaking the boy’s leg.
Each state uses its own terms and acronyms to refer to charges related to drunk driving. Despite the differences among these terms, though, many people use them interchangeably. This can lead to confusion, especially if you’re facing charges and you want to know the potential penalties of a conviction.