According to Inside Edition, a New York man is facing multiple charges following an incident in which he struck his stepson with his vehicle when the 13-year-old boy was out walking the family dog. Police claim the 42-year-old man was driving under the influence when he hit his stepson, breaking the boy’s leg.
The suspect was driving a 2017 Jaguar and had one passenger in the vehicle: his other stepson, a 9-year-old boy. Authorities claim the younger boy sustained non-life threatening injuries in the accident.
Responders airlifted the older boy to Stony Brook University Hospital, where doctors treated his broken leg. The younger boy received treatment for his injuries at a local hospital before providers released him. Neither the dog nor the man sustained injuries in the accident.
Last week, the man pleaded not guilty to charges of endangering the welfare of a child and aggravated DWI with a child passenger. If you are facing charges for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol and you are not sure how to structure your defense, contact Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law.
As a White Plains DUI attorney, Mr. DeUrso can help you develop a defense that may convince the court to drop or reduce your charges. Call 914-772-8614 to schedule a case evaluation with a DWI lawyer in New York.
What Is Aggravated DWI in New York?
In the state of New York, there are essentially various degrees of driving while intoxicated, and more serious charges result in more severe penalties. The factors that will ultimately determine the charges you face include:
- Your level of impairment and blood alcohol concentration at the time of arrest;
- Your criminal history;
- Whether there are any minor passengers in the vehicle with you; and
- Whether you caused a collision that resulted in personal injury or property damage.
In New York, you can expect to face charges for driving while intoxicated if your BAC is 0.08. If you’re a commercial driver, the BAC limit is 0.04. If your BAC is higher than 0.18, you will face charges for aggravated DWI, which carry more severe penalties than those simply for DWI.
For first-time offenders, an aggravated DWI conviction can result in a fine of between $1,000 and $2,500, a one-year jail term, and a license suspension of at least one year. If it is your second AGG DWI in a 10-year period, it is considered a class E felony, and potential penalties include a fine of up to $5,000, a jail term of up to four years, and a license suspension of at least 18 months.
A third AGG DWI within a decade is a class D felony. Potential penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, a seven-year prison sentence, and a license revocation of at least a year and a half.
If you are facing charges for aggravated DWI and you are not sure how to proceed, contact Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law. Our office is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Call 914-772-8614 to schedule a consultation with a DWI lawyer in White Plains. You can learn more about fighting DWI charges in New York by visiting USAttorneys.com.