Driving is a privilege in the state of New York, not a right, and motorists have an obligation to ensure the safety of those around them by following the rules of the road. If you fail to abide by local traffic laws and receive a license suspension or revocation as a result, you need to stay off the road or you could face serious penalties that have lasting repercussions.
If police have accused you of driving without a valid license and you want to fight the charges, contact Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law. As your Westchester County moving violation lawyer, Mr. DeUrso will develop a defense that may convince the court to reduce your charges or sentence, or to dismiss your case altogether. Call 914-772-8614 to schedule a consultation.
What Are the Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in New York?
In the state of New York, operating a motor vehicle with a suspended license is a misdemeanor charge that can result in a fine of up to $500 and a sentence of up to 30 days in jail. You will face more severe penalties if you already have a prior conviction on your record from the last 18 months or if your license was suspended as part of DWI proceedings or for a breath test refusal. In either scenario, the offense is still a misdemeanor, but the potential penalties include a fine of up to $1,000 and a sentence of up to six months in jail.
Individuals who are driving while under the influence with a suspended license face class E felony charges. Potential penalties include a mandatory jail sentence and a fine of up to $5,000.
If you are convicted of driving without a license, you can also expect the current suspension to extend for a much longer period than originally ordered.
When Could the Department of Motor Vehicles Suspend My License?
There are two kinds of license suspensions in the state of New York: definite and indefinite. A definite suspension order has a set end date from the start, whereas an indefinite suspension order requires you to do something specific before the DMV will reinstate your license. The DMV might hand down a definite suspension order if:
- Your vehicle is uninsured;
- You were convicted of DWI;
- You committed too many traffic violations in too short a time period; or
- You did not follow the laws regarding junior drivers.
The DMV may hand down an indefinite suspension order if:
- You failed to answer a traffic ticket or pay an associated fine;
- You failed to file an accident report following a motor vehicle collision;
- You failed to stay up-to-date on child support obligations;
- You have unpaid state tax debts; or
- Your vehicle is uninsured
If you are facing charges for driving without a valid license, contact Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law. Our office is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Call 914-772-8614 to schedule a case evaluation with a moving violation attorney in Westchester County. You can learn more about criminal defense in New York by visiting the USAttorneys website.