Scarsdale10583 reports that a former middle school teacher who was arrested in late September now faces a slew of charges including aggravated DWI. Sources claim that police initially received a report of erratic driving, which eventually led to the arrest of the 36-year-old motorist, a White Plains woman who was allegedly driving while intoxicated with her child in the vehicle.
When police arrived at the scene, they found the car in question traveling slowly while the driver was talking on her cell phone. When officers initiated a traffic stop, she struck the curb as she pulled to the side of the road.
Officers claim they detected the smell of alcohol on her breath during the traffic stop and also allegedly noticed that she had slow motor skills, slurred speech and evasive eye contact. The driver’s 9-year-old daughter was sitting in the back seat.
When police asked the motorist to step out of her vehicle, she allegedly lost her balance and almost fell. Police claim she admitted to having one mixed drink and a Xanax roughly one hour prior, and a breath test revealed a blood alcohol content of 0.14 —nearly twice the legal limit.
According to Talk of the Sound, the motorist now faces charges of aggravated DWI with a child in the car, driving while on a cell phone, and DWI per se with a prior conviction. After the arrest, police released her on $500 cash bail.
If you are facing aggravated DWI charges in New York, your first call should be to a criminal attorney. Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law is a DWI lawyer in White Plains who will aggressively represent your interests.
Call 914-772-8614 today to discuss your defense options. You can also learn more about DWI defense strategies in New York by visiting the USAttorneys website.
What is aggravated DWI?
Aggravated DWI is a more serious offense than DWI, and there are two main scenarios that can result in facing such charges. Under Vehicle and Traffic Law §1192, police will typically charge motorists with aggravated DWI if their BAC is more than 0.18 or if there is at least one child under the age of 15 in the vehicle and their BAC is more than .08.
If you are facing aggravated DWI charges for a BAC of .18 or higher, it is a misdemeanor; however, according to the New York State Unified Court System, aggravated DWI with a child is a class E felony, which means a conviction could seriously impact your life both personally and professionally.
If you are facing charges for aggravated DWI, there is a lot at stake, and you should do everything in your power to ensure the best resolution possible for your situation. You can start by hiring an experienced criminal attorney like Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law. Call 914-772-8614 to schedule an initial consultation with a White Plains DWI lawyer today.