New York has particularly harsh consequences for driving while intoxicated. Even a first conviction may come with a steep fine, time behind bars and a license suspension.
In certain cases, aggravating factors make the charges worse. One such scenario is when the police arrest a driver for DWI with a child under 16 in the vehicle.
According to NY.gov, state legislators enacted Leandra’s Law on Dec. 18, 2009. It was named after Leandra Rosado – an 11-year-old girl who lost her life in a car accident with a drunk driver. Violators who break this law could face felony charges and spend several years in prison.
If New York police arrested you for DWI, contact Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law. Mr. DeUrso understands that honest people make mistakes, and he will fight passionately for a positive outcome to your case.
Schedule a consultation today by calling 914-772-8614. You can also visit http://dui-lawyers.usattorneys.com/ to learn more about DWI laws.
Here is a brief overview of Leandra’s Law:
What are the consequences of breaking Leandra’s Law?
If New York police arrest you for DWI and there is a child under 16 in your vehicle, then you have broken Leandra’s Law. If it is your first offense, then you may face a class E felony charge. A conviction can come with up to four years in prison.
You will also have to install an ignition interlock device on all vehicles that you own and operate. You will have to maintain the IID for a minimum of six months.
If you were driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol and you caused the death of a child younger than 16, then you could face a class B felony. A conviction could come with up to 25 years in prison.
If you were driving while intoxicated and you seriously injured a child younger than 16, then you may face a class C felony. The maximum prison sentence would be 15 years.
If you are a parent or guardian and police arrested you for DWI while your child was in the vehicle, then law enforcement must report you to the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment. You will also face other penalties associated with driving while intoxicated including fines and a license suspension.
Penalties for Subsequent DWI Offenses
As the New York Department of Motor Vehicles explains, DWI penalties worsen with subsequent offenses. The fine of a first conviction will fall between $500 and $1,000. The offender could also face up to one year in jail.
For a second conviction within 10 years, the maximum fine jumps to $5,000. The offender could face up to four years behind bars.
For a third conviction within 10 years, the maximum fine doubles to $10,000. A conviction can also come with up to seven years in prison.
If you are facing DWI or DWAI-Drugs charges in New York, your first call should be to a criminal attorney. Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law is a DWI lawyer in White Plains who can protect your interests. Call 914-772-8614 today to schedule a consultation.