According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving, alcohol-related road fatality rates are increasing in New York. They cost taxpayers $2.5 billion in 2013 alone. For these reasons, state legislators have introduced strict DWI laws to discourage drunk driving. Unfortunately, honest people make mistakes, and if you are facing DWI charges, your first call should be to a criminal attorney.
Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law is a White Plains DWI lawyer who understands how to find success in court. He can evaluate your arrest and structure a comprehensive defense. Call 914-772-8614 to schedule a consultation, and visit USAttorneys.com to learn more about DWI laws in New York.
Here are three potential consequences of a DWI conviction:
If it is your first DWI offense, you may have to pay a fine of up to $1,000. This increases to a maximum of $5,000 for a second offense within 10 years. If a court convicts you of a third or subsequent DWI within 10 years, you may have to pay up to $10,000 in fines.
Additionally, you will have to meet certain requirements if you wish to get a conditional license, such as completing a drinker driver program. Repeat offenses may increase the costs of annual license fees.
- Jail Time
First-time DWI offenders may have to spend up to one year in jail. If it is your second offense within 10 years, this increases to a maximum of four years. A third DWI conviction within 10 years can put you behind bars for up to seven years.
- Suspended License
The court will suspend your driver’s license for at least six months if this is your first violation. If it is your second DWI within 10 years, your license will be suspended for at least one year, and you will have to complete an alcohol treatment program to get it back, according to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. The court may also order you to install an ignition interlock device.
New York is an “implied consent” state. This means that all motorists consent to a breathalyzer test as soon as they start a vehicle’s engine. If you are 21 years or older and your breathalyzer measures your blood-alcohol content at a level of 0.08 percent or greater, then police will charge you with DWI. The maximum BAC for commercial drivers is 0.04 percent, and it is 0.02 percent for drivers under the age of 21.
If your BAC is 0.18 percent or higher, then you will be charged with aggravated DWI. If it is your first conviction, your license will be revoked for at least one year. You will face a fine of $1,000 to $2,500, and you may have to spend up to one year in jail.
If you are facing DWI charges in New York, contact Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law. Mr. DeUrso is a White Plains DWI lawyer who can assess your charges, gather evidence and construct an aggressive defense. Call 914-772-8614 to schedule a consultation.