Driving while intoxicated is a serious offense in New York. This is because, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 30 Americans die every day in alcohol-related accidents. If you face a DWI charge, then your first call should be to a criminal attorney.
While any DWI charge is a serious matter, some are worse than others. The most severe DWI offenses involve extensive damage either to people or their property.
If New York police have arrested you for driving while intoxicated, then contact Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law for assistance. Call us today at 914-772-8614 to discuss your options.
Until then, read on to learn about the three worst DWI charges in New York:
- Intoxication Manslaughter
If you accidentally kill someone due to driving while intoxicated, then it is likely that you will face intoxication manslaughter charges. Even if you did not intend to kill that person, the law will consider you liable for the death. This is a very severe charge.
In fact, this is the most serious DWI charge. As a second-degree, a conviction for intoxication manslaughter can come with severe penalties. You could go to prison for up to 20 years and have to pay a $10,000 fine. If you face intoxication manslaughter charges in New York, then you should consult a DWI lawyer as soon as possible.
- Intoxication Assault
If your impaired driving seriously injures another person, then you may face a charge of intoxication assault. This involves causing another person severe bodily injury, such as an increased risk of death, disfigurement or irreversible damage, or the permanent loss of an organ or body part. A conviction may involve an exorbitant fine and several years behind bars.
Intoxication assault is considered a third-degree felony. If you are convicted, then you will likely go to prison for two to 10 years. Fines can exceed $10,000.
- DWI Involving Minors
According to New York law, driving while intoxicated with children in the car is a more serious offense than a normal DWI charge. If police find anyone younger than 15 years old in the vehicle with you while you are intoxicated, then a conviction may involve a two-year jail sentence, a $10,000 fine and a license suspension for up to 180 days.
You should always take criminal charges seriously, but this is particularly true if police arrested you for DWI. If you are facing charges for intoxication manslaughter, intoxication assault or DWI involving minors in New York, then Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law may be able to help.
Mr. DeUrso can structure a defense based on the unique facts of your case. As a White Plains criminal attorney, Darren DeUrso has the knowledge to guide you through the legal system and protect your interests. Call our office today at 914-772-8614 to discuss your legal options.