DWI charges often accompany life-changing administrative and criminal penalties. A conviction can remove your freedom to drive, which can jeopardize your career. Combined with expensive fines, the financial burden of a DWI can lead to insurmountable debt. This is why it is so important to take these charges seriously.
If police have charged you with DWI, then White Plains DWI lawyer Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law may be able to help. With more than 25 years of experience, Mr. DeUrso understands how to find success in court. Call us today at 914-772-8614 to schedule a consultation.
The penalties of a DWI conviction depend on several factors, including the driver’s BAC, whether this is a first-time or repeat offense, and whether there were any aggravating factors, such as a child in the car. Read on to learn more about DWI penalties in New York:
DWI Convictions: Fines and Jail Sentences
The purpose of DWI laws is to discourage drivers from engaging in behavior that could endanger themselves and those around them. As a result, the penalties – especially for repeat offenses – can be quite severe.
According to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles, first-time DWI offenses involving a 0.08 percent blood alcohol content are misdemeanors and come with a minimum $500 fine. There is also the risk of spending up to one year in prison and facing a six-month license suspension. This increases to a 12-month license revocation for offenders under the age of 21.
The penalties for repeat offenses can be much worse. This is especially true if the defendant was convicted of DWI within the last 10 years. One of the more troubling concerns for repeat offenses is that they may be felonies, which can limit employment opportunities and remove other freedoms.
Second-time offenses within a certain timeframe automatically become class E felonies. The fines range from $1,000 to $5,000, as well as a potential prison sentence of up to four years. Defendants may also lose their license for one year.
Convictions for drivers under the age of 21 might come with a license suspension that lasts until they turn 21 years old. Penalties for third-time offenses, which are class D felonies, are even harsher – with a possible $10,000 fine and up to seven years in prison.
Aggravated DWI Charges
Though a minimum of 0.08 percent BAC is required for a DWI charge, New York courts have separate punishments for drivers whose BAC registers at 0.18 or higher. In these cases, fines start at $1,000. Subsequent convictions can cost thousands more in fines and result in an 18-month license suspension.
If you are facing DWI charges, then your first call should be to an experienced White Plains DWI attorney. A qualified lawyer can evaluate your charges, construct your defense and aggressively fight for a positive outcome to your case. Contact Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law today at 914-772-8614 to schedule an initial consultation.